jump to navigation

How do I explain it to him? February 22, 2006

Posted by RepublicanWitch in Madness.
trackback

Tonight, I had “Special Report with Brit Hume” on while I was making dinner.  The discussion turned to the Supreme Court review of the ban on partial-birth abortion. Brit asked each panel member what the procedure should be called, and Fred Barnes said he thought “partial-birth abortion” was the correct term since a baby is partially born, then killed.  Mara Liasson said she preferred the phrase “late-term abortion”.  Then they showed a tape of the woman (?) from NOW (Nauseating Obnoxious Whiners) talking about “reproductive rights”. 

Why?  Why call it something to make it more, I don’t know, acceptable?  It is what it is – delivering a baby and killing it before it takes a breath.  How have we arrived at this point as a society where this is acceptable? 

My teenage son wasn’t in the room at this point, and for that I thank the gods. 

How can I look him in the eye and tell him that people do this?  That there are women who will have their babies killed while still inside them, and others who will have them killed as they’re being born?  How do you explain this?  How do you explain that doctors actually do this?  How do supporters of abortion explain it to their kids?  Oh, yes, honey, it’s not a big deal. Good thing you arrived at a convenient time, or that could have been you? 

I’ve spent the last 20-some years taking care of my children, and that started the minute I found out I was pregnant.  I’ve loved them from the first instant I knew that they existed, and I’ve grown to love them more each day.  I can’t imagine the world without them.  They are the most important things in our lives, and I would give my life in a second if it could save theirs.  Isn’t this how a mom is supposed to be?

There is a certain human-ness missing, I think, in a large portion of the population.  I’m amazed when I read about PETA going on about eating meat, and chickens that are being mistreated, and women who wear fur – where’s the outrage for the littlest humans?  Or the groups that come out whenever an execution is scheduled – sure, get all over the news trying to save a killer, but a baby?  Nah.  Not worth it. 

Don’t miss : Super Happy Fun Partial Birth Abortion FAQ! from IMAO – as always, Frank J. nails it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

